Fees and Refunds
The University reserves the right to alter any of the following charges without notice. All charges are due and payable on the date that they are incurred, or the due date indicated on the ticket, invoice, or statement. Checks or credit cards for the exact amount of the total charges should be made payable to the University of South Carolina Aiken.
Any student who has failed to pay all required registration fees on or before the last date to change course schedules (as indicated in the University calendar) may be dropped from class rolls. Any student who fails to relieve any other indebtedness to the University or to any of its auxiliary agencies on the date such obligations become due may not be issued a transcript, diploma, or degree.
Checks And Credit Cards
If a check given in payment of academic and other fees is not paid upon presentation to the bank on which it is drawn, the student will be required to pay a late payment fee of $5.00 per day beginning with the first day of classes (for a maximum of $350.00) plus a $25.00 service charge. If a check given in payment of other charges is returned from the bank on which the check is drawn, the student will be required to pay a $25.00 service charge.
If the student fails to pay the total amount of the check, plus the additional charges (by cash or cashierís check) within 10 working days, the University will have the right to issue a warrant for the total amount, including other costs, and may not allow the student to re-enter the University, secure a transcript of records, or receive a diploma until the total amount has been paid.
The University has established a differential in tuition and fees between State residents and non-residents, and must therefore determine the resident classification of applicants and students in accordance with South Carolina Code of Laws (59-112-10 et seq.).
Policies for Students
The initial determination of oneís resident classification is made at the time of admission. The determination made at that time, and any determination made thereafter, prevails for each semester until the determination is challenged successfully.
"Reside"ó continuous and permanent physical presence within the state.
"Domicile"ó true, fixed, principal residence and place of habitation indicating where a person intends to remain or to where one expects to return when away.
"Independent person"ó one in his/her majority (18 or older) whose predominant source of income is his/her own earnings or income from employment, investments or payments from trusts, grants, scholarships, loans or payments made in accordance with court order. An independent person is also one who is independent during the tax year immediately prior to the year in which resident status is claimed and whose independent status has not changed.
"Dependent person"ó one whose predominant source of income or support is payments from a parent, spouse or guardian and who qualifies as a dependent (or exemption) on the federal income tax return of the parent, spouse or guardian.
Under the law, residency for fee and tuition purposes can be established by an independent citizen or by certain classes of independent aliens.
Resident Classification. In order to be classified as a South Carolina resident for fee and tuition purposes, an independent person must physically reside and be domiciled in South Carolina for at least 12 months immediately preceding the date that classes begin for the term for which resident status is to be determined. The independent person must couple his/her physical presence within the state for 12 months with objective evidence that he/she intends to establish a permanent home in South Carolina.
If these steps are delayed, the 12-month duration period will be extended until both physical presence and intent have been demonstrated for 12 months.
Physical presence within the state solely for educational purposes does not constitute the establishment of South Carolina residence for fee and tuition purposes, regardless of the length of stay.
Maintaining Residency. A personís temporary absence from the state does not necessarily constitute loss of South Carolina residence unless that person has acted inconsistently with the claim of continued South Carolina residence during his/her absence from the state. The burden is on the person to show retention of South Carolina residence during the absence from the state.
Dependent Persons. The law also provides for resident classification of dependent persons. Generally, the resident status of a dependent person is based on the resident status of the parent, spouse or guardian upon whom the dependent person is financially dependent.
The resident status of a dependent person whose parents are separated or divorced may be based on the resident status of the parent who supports and claims the dependent person as a dependent for federal income tax purposes, or it may be based on the resident status of the parent who has legal custody.
A dependent alien may be entitled to resident classification if the alien and the parent of the alien have been lawfully admitted to the United States for permanent residence and the parent has physically resided and established permanent residence in South Carolina for at least 12 months after admission for permanent residence.
Persons in the following categories may qualify to pay in-state fees without having to establish a permanent home in South Carolina for 12 months. Person qualifying under any of the exclusions below, must complete a questionnaire to verify their eligibility under the applicable exemption.
Richmond and Columbia County Residents. Persons who are legal residents of Richmond or Columbia counties, Georgia, may qualify to pay the in-state tuition rate and should contact the Admissions office for additional information. Note: reciprocal agreement for in-state applies to Aiken undergraduate or graduate courses taken at the Aiken campus.
Military Personnel and Their Dependents. Members of the United States armed forces (and their dependents) who are stationed in South Carolina on active duty may be considered eligible for in-state rates.
When such personnel are ordered away from the state, their dependents may continue for an additional 12 months to have this eligibility.
Such persons (and their dependents) may also be considered eligible for in-state rates for a period of 12 months after their discharge from the military, provided they have demonstrated an intent to establish permanent residence in South Carolina and they have resided in South Carolina for a period of at least 12 months immediately preceding their discharge.
Military personnel whose educational expenses are paid by the federal government are ineligible to pay in-state fees.
Faculty and Administrative Employees and Their Dependents. Full-time faculty and administrative employees of South Carolina state-supported colleges and universities are eligible for in-state rates without regard to their state of permanent residence. Dependents of such persons are also eligible for in-state rates.
Residents with Full-Time Employment and Their Dependents. Independent persons who have resided and been domiciled in South Carolina for less than 12 months may be eligible for the in-state rates if they are full-time employed (minimum 37.5 hours a week on a single job) in the state and they will continue to work full-time until they meet the 12-month requirement. The dependents of such persons may also be eligible for in-state rates.
Effects of Changes
Moving. If the person upon whom a dependent person is dependent moves from the state, the dependent person may enroll and continue to be enrolled at the in-state rate, provided the dependent person and the person upon whom the dependent person is dependent were domiciled in South Carolina for at least three years immediately prior to the dependent personís enrollment. Persons qualifying under this provision are eligible to pay in-state fees as long as there is not an interruption in their enrollment, summer terms excluded.
If a dependent or independent person has been domiciled in South Carolina for less than three years and his/her resident status changes between the time of acceptance and actual enrollment, the person may be allowed to pay resident fees the semester for which accepted and a grace period of one additional semester, provided the person was a permanent resident at least 12 months prior to acceptance for admission. If the personís resident status changes after he/she enrolls, the person may retain resident status for the continuation of the semester in which the personís resident status changed and for a grace period of one additional semester.
Marriage. If a non-resident marries a South Carolina resident, the non-resident does not automatically acquire South Carolina resident status. The non-resident may acquire South Carolina resident status if the South Carolina resident is an independent person and the non-resident is a dependent of the South Carolina resident.
Applying for Resident Status. Persons applying for resident status should determine that they meet the requirements for an independent citizen, an independent alien, a dependent citizen or a dependent alien as described above.
Establishing Requisite Intent. The following may be considered convincing evidence that one intends to establish permanent residence in South Carolina:
1. registering to vote and voting in South Carolina elections;
2. obtaining a South Carolina driverís license, or if a non-driver, a South Carolina identification card;
3. obtaining South Carolina vehicle registration;
4. paying South Carolina income tax as a resident, including income earned outside South Carolina from the date residence is established;
5. existing principal residence in South Carolina;
6. existence of immediate family members in South Carolina;
7. having bank accounts or loans with banking institutions in South Carolina;
8. offer and acceptance of full-time employment in South Carolina;
9. absence of evidence of permanent residence in other states during any period for which residence in South Carolina is asserted.
Not any one of these factors or any group of these factors is necessarily determinative. Each case is decided individually on the basis of all facts submitted.
1. Persons applying for resident classification must complete a residency application and supply supportive documentation at least three weeks prior to the fee payment deadline for the applicable term to allow sufficient time for a decision to be made.
2. Persons who submit residency applications less than three weeks prior to fee payment deadlines for applicable terms may be required to pay out-of-state fees.
3. Refunds may be requested any time during the fiscal year in which the applicable term occurs. The fiscal year begins on July 1 of each year and ends on June 30 of the following year.
Maintaining Resident Status. A person who will be out of state temporarily should take the following steps to retain South Carolina resident status for fee and tuition purposes:
1. continue to use a South Carolina permanent address in all records;
2. satisfy South Carolina resident income tax obligations (individuals claiming permanent residence in South Carolina are liable for payment of income taxes on their total income from the date they establish South Carolina residence; this includes income earned in another state or country);
3. retain South Carolina voterís registration, vote by absentee ballot;
4. maintain South Carolina driverís license and vehicle registration.
Incorrect Classification. Persons classified incorrectly as residents are subject to reclassification and to payment of all non-resident fees not paid.
If incorrect classification results from false or concealed facts, such persons will be charged tuition and fees past due and unpaid at the out-of-state rate, plus interest at a rate of 8% per annum, plus a penalty amounting to 25% of the out-of-state rate for one semester. Until these charges are paid, such persons will not be allowed to receive transcripts or graduate from the University.
Residents whose resident status changes are responsible for notifying the Residency Office of such changes.
Inquiries and Appeals. Inquiries regarding residency requirements and determinations should be directed to the Residency Officer, Office of Admissions, USC Aiken, 471 University Parkway, Aiken, SC 29801. No other University personnel are authorized to supply information relative to residency requirements for tuition purposes.
Any person, following a final decision on residence classification, may make an appeal to the University Committee on Legal Residence. The committee, however, is bound by the same laws as the residency officer, so its purpose is only to review the facts and details of any case brought before it to evaluate the correctness of the decision made by the residency officer. Neither the committee nor the residency officer may waive the provisions of the law.
This is a summation, not a complete explanation, of the law regarding residence. A copy of the law is available in the Office of Admissions. The residency requirements are subject to change without notification.
Application Fee $35.00
A one-time, non-refundable application fee is required
of all students and must accompany the application.
Matriculation Fee $50.00
A one-time fee for orientation, assessment, and
placement testing for new undergraduate degree-seeking students.
Reinstatement Fee $40.00
Full-Time Undergraduate Students (12 semester hours or more)
Resident (per semester) $2,137.00
Non-resident (per semester) $4,492.00
Part-Time Students (fewer than 12 semester hours)
Undergraduate Resident (per semester hour) $187.00
Undergraduate Non-resident (per semester hour) $395.00
Graduate Resident (per semester hour) $266.00
Graduate Non-resident (per semester hour) $568.00
Graduate (certified teachers Resident) (per semester hour) $205.00
Graduate (certified teachers Non-resident) (per semester hour) $231.00
Graduate Assistant Resident/Non-resident (per semester) $927.00
Graduate fees must be paid by graduate students whether the
courses taken are graduate or undergraduate.
Note: Students enrolled in courses at another USC campus
will be required to pay the tuition and fees of that campus
in addition to the USCA tuition and fees for USCA courses.
Other Required Fees
Technology Fee (per semester for full-time students)
(per credit hour each semester for part-time students) $4.00
Health Services Fees (per semester for full-time students) $15.00
(per credit hour each semester for part-time students) $1.00
Parking and Security Fee (per semester) $10.00
Summer (per term) $5.00
This is a required fee of all students that includes a parking permit
as well as security and parking lot maintenance.
Applied Music Fee (per course) $70.00
This fee is required for students enrolled in private music instruction.
Resident (per semester hour) $187.00
Non-resident (per semester hour) $395.00
Legal residents of South Carolina who have attained the age of sixty (60) and meet admission and other standards deemed appropriate by the University may attend classes for credit or non-credit purposes on a space available basis at no tuition. All other required fees will be charged.
Pacer Downs (per semester, per student) $1285.00
Includes basic phone service, basic cable, and up to
$85.00 per month, per apartment in utilities.
All Pacer Downs residents will be required to purchase a meal plan. Other students may choose from any plan.Seven meals per week (per semester) $605.00
Health Insurance (optional)
Students seeking health insurance coverage are encouraged to evaluate the USC-sponsored plan and determine if it fits their individual needs and circumstances. Go to http://www.sa.sc.edu/tshc/student_healthinfo.htm for more information on the plan, and eligibility and enrollment information. You may also visit the General Agentís website at www.studentinsurance.com.
Replacement identification card: $25.00
Replacement fee receipt: $5.00
Transcripts (per copy): $8.00
Transcripts are obtained through the Office of the University
Registrar at USC Columbia, S.C. To contact the Office of the
University Registrar, please call (803)777-5555.
The University retains the right to change tuition and fees as approved by the administration and Board of Trustees.
Late Registration (per day): $5.00
(after prescribed registration date)
After late registration there will be a $40 reinstatement fee
in addition to all other fees (see Fees above).
Bad Checks (check returned by bank for any reason): $25.00
Overdue Materials (per day, per item): $0.25
Four day grace period; on the fifth day, a $1.25 fine per item
will be levied and a charge of $.25 per day per item will accrue
until the item is returned. The maximum charge is $10.00 per item.
Overdue Reserve Materials (per day, per item): $1.00
Lost Materials (minimum): $43.00
plus current overdue fine
Parking Fines (Bonds)
Parking improperly: $5.00
Parking decal or permit not displayed: $5.00
Parked in no parking area: $10.00
Parked in loading or service zone: $10.00
Blocking (sidewalk, driveways): $15.00
Parked at fire plug; in fire lane: $25.00
Parked on grass (except as authorized): $10.00
Parking in reserved space: $5.00
Failure to register: $10.00
Parking in handicap or blocking
handicap space/curb cut: $50.00
Parking on yellow curb: $10.00
Speeding on campus: $40.00
Refund policies for academic tuition and fees are outlined below:
The University will refund a part of academic fees in certain cases.
A. Changes in a studentís status which require a refund:
1. changes in a full-time studentís schedule which results in reclassification to part-time.
2. changes in a part-time studentís schedule which results in fewer credit hours.
B. Situations which require a refund:
1. course or courses dropped.
2. withdrawal from the University.
3. cancellation of a class by the University.
All requests for refunds must be made during the academic year for which the fees were paid. The academic year begins with the fall term and ends with the last summer session (Summer II). Refunds may be requested at any time during the academic year in which the applicable term occurs.
Standard Refund Procedures For Withdrawal From The University
A. 100% refund of the charges, if the studentís official withdrawal date is by the end of the first week of classes of a sixteen (16) week session.
B. 90% refund of the charges if the studentís official withdrawal date is between the period specified in (A) or before the end of the 10% period of enrollment for which the student was charged.
C. 70% refund of the charges if the studentís official withdrawal date is between the period specified in (B) or before the end of the 16% period of enrollment for which the student was charged.
D. 50% refund of the charges if the studentís official withdrawal date is between the period specified in (C) or before the end of the 25% period of enrollment for which the student was charged.
E. 25% refund of the charges if the studentís official withdrawal date is between the period specified in (D) or before the end of the 50% period of enrollment for which the student was charged.
Summer Sessions and Other Shortened Sessions
Adjusted refund schedules are printed in the Schedule of Classes booklet and are available in the Registrarís Office.
Determining the Refundable Portion Procedure
The refund is for the portion of the tuition, fees, room, board, and other charges assessed the student under the control of the University equal to the portion of the period of enrollment for which the student has been charged that remains on the withdrawal date, less any unpaid amount of a scheduled cash payment for the period of enrollment for which the student has been charged. Fees such as health, technology and parking are refunded only during the 100% withdrawal period.
The Financial Aid Office determines how much of the refund is distributed back to Title IV, HEA programs or other Financial Aid sources.
Refund schedules are printed in the Schedule of Classes booklet for each session.
An appeals process exists for students or parents who believe that individual circumstances warrant exceptions from published policy.
The Withdrawal Appeals Committee reviews and acts on all appeals.
Address appeals to Withdrawal Refund Appeals Committee, Assistant Chancellor for Enrollment Services, USC Aiken, 471 University Parkway, Aiken, SC 29801.
Policy on the Return of Title IV Funds
Federal financial aid funds are awarded with the expectation that students will complete the entire period of enrollment. Students "earn" a percentage of the funds that are disbursed with each day of class attendance. When a student who has received federal aid funds (Title IV Funds) leaves school before the end of the semester or period of enrollment, federal law requires the University of South Carolina Aiken to calculate the percentage and amount of "unearned" financial aid funds that must be returned to the federal government. Once a student has completed more than 60% of the enrollment period, students are considered to have earned all funding received. This calculation may have the effect of requiring the student to repay funds that have already been disbursed to the student or credited towards their current account for tuition, fees, housing and/or meals. Students are encouraged to meet with a counselor in the Financial Aid Office prior to making the decision to withdraw from school.
Students who have received federal student loans or other forms of financial aid, rebates will be refunded in the order prescribed by federal regulations: first to the Unsubsidized Federal Stafford and to Subsidized Federal Stafford loan, if any; then to Federal Perkins loan; next to Nursing Student loan, then to any other Federal, State, private or institutional scholarship and loans; and, finally, any remaining balance to the student.
Exit interviews are required before leaving the University of South Carolina for all students who withdraw and have received Stafford, Perkins, OR NSL loans. These student should contact the Financial Aid Office (803-641-3476) to determine where to go for the interview.
Refunds are not made to students or parents until all institutional financial obligations for the period has been canceled or repaid in full.
Standard refunds are calculated on all students who withdraw from the university regardless of funding sources.
A percentage of fees will be refunded for course(s) dropped within two weeks (fall, spring and summer) after the first official day of classes or within an equivalent period for other courses. No refund will be made thereafter.
Fall and Spring Semesters
A. Course dropped before the end of the late registration period - 100%.
B. Course dropped from the end of the late registration period until two weeks after the beginning of the semester - 70%.
1. Course dropped before the end of the late registration period - 100%.
2. Course dropped before the end of the late registration period until one week after the beginning of the term - 40%.
3. Course dropped between one and two weeks after the beginning of the term - 25%.
4. Course dropped more than two weeks after the beginning of the term - none.
Other Shortened Sessions
Adjusted refund schedules are printed in the Schedule of Classes Booklet and are available in the Registrarís Office.
The University Withdrawals Refund Appeal Committee is authorized to consider appeals and approve extraordinary exceptions to the Universityís published withdrawal refund schedule due to humanitarian and due process considerations. Guidelines for committee consideration of withdrawal appeals:
1. The appeal must be submitted in writing to the Assistant Chancellor for Enrollment Services and will be considered only in written form.
2. All requests for appeal must be submitted directly by the student and must meet one or more of the following criteria to be considered and approved by the appeals committee:
a) Documentation of an accident, illness, injury, or incident which could not be influenced, predicted, planned for, or prevented by the student or the institution. This provision specifically excludes conditions or chronic illnesses known to the student or the studentís family.
b) Demonstration that the application of the published refund policy would result in a specific and substantial personal hardship to the student. This provision specifically excludes circumstances or effects which would simply inconvenience the student or the studentís family.
c) Documentation of substantiated circumstances where a student has in good faith relied upon the veracity of a University officialís advice, or the officialís interpretation of the text of a University document or publication, and was consequently misled or mistaken about the terms of the published refund policy.
3. The appeal must be initiated during the semester for which the refund is requested.
4. The appeal must involve a total withdrawal from the University. No partial withdrawals will be considered.
5. Appeals will only address whether or not a refund will be granted. No consideration will be given to grade assignment or other academic issues. Students must address such issues directly with the faculty members and the college or school. If applicable, requests for Extenuating Circumstances Withdrawals for grade change purposes must be resolved prior to deliberation by this committee.
6. Grounds for consideration of an appeal will be restricted to only those circumstances personally experienced by the enrolled individual with whom the University has a direct relationship. Loss or illness of a family member, close associate, or employee, and/or difficulty in family operated businesses are excluded from consideration.
7. The student will be informed of the outcome of the appeal by letter from the Assistant Chancellor for Enrollment Services.
Return to Bulletin Contents Page
University of South Carolina Aiken
Copyright © 2000-2001 by the Board of Trustees of the University of South Carolina.
Comments to firstname.lastname@example.org 01.04.01