The University of South Carolina observes the same number of holidays as other state agencies even though the days on which the holidays are observed may differ because of the academic schedule. When a university holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday the holiday will be observed on the preceding Friday, or the following Monday.

2019 Holiday Schedule 

The following dates have been approved as the official university holidays in 2019 and 2020.

New Year's Day (first 2019 holiday) Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 21, 2019
National Memorial Day Monday, May 27, 2019
Independence Day Thursday, July 4, 2019
Labor Day Monday, September 2, 2019
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 28, 2019
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 29, 2019
Christmas Eve  Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Day After Christmas Thursday, December 26, 2019
December Holiday  Friday, December 27, 2019
December Holiday  Monday, December 30, 2019
December Holiday Tuesday, December 31, 2019
New Year’s Day (first 2020 holiday) Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 20, 2020
National Memorial Day Monday, May 25, 2020
Independence Day (observed) Friday, July 3, 2020
Labor Day Monday, September 7, 2020
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 26, 2020
Day after Thanksgiving Friday, November 27, 2020
Christmas Eve Thursday, December 24, 2020
Christmas Day Friday, December 25, 2020
Day after Christmas Monday, December 28, 2020
December Holiday Tuesday, December 29, 2020
December Holiday Wednesday, December 30, 2020
December Holiday Thursday, December 31, 2020
New Year’s Day (first 2021 holiday) Friday, January 1, 2021